MisOr performing Lupons receive award, financial grant

July 4, 2019

Seven local government units (LGUs) from Misamis Oriental with performing Lupons received recognition and cash awards through the Provincial Lupong Tagapamayapa Incentives Awards (LTIA) in a simple awarding ceremony held during the Flag Raising Ceremony on June 24, 2019 at the Provincial Capitol Kiosk, Capitol Compound, Cagayan de Oro City.

DILG Misamis Oriental OIC Provincial Director Engr. Marisia C. Naybe emphasized the importance of the functionality and accomplishments of the Katarungang Pambarangay (KP).

Pursuant to Section 406 (b) of the LGC of 1991, the LTIA was established both as a function of public policy and as a tribute to outstanding performance of lupons in promoting KP objectives.

LTIA was rooted from the desire to institutionalize the KP as an indigenous conflict resolution structure at the grassroots level, as well as a system of granting economic benefits and other incentives to lupons and generate greater awareness among, and support from, the various sectors of the Philippine Society on the KP as a potent vehicle toward social ordering and human development.

PD Naybe explained that the performance and accomplishments of lupons were evaluated by committees organized at the provincial and municipal levels on the basis of a) efficiency of operations; b) effectiveness in securing the katarungang pambarangay objectives and c) creativity and resourcefulness of mediators.

The LTIA winners are as follows: (1st to 3rd Class Municipality) Brgy. Imelda, Mun. of Villanueva - first prize; Brgy. Poblacion, Mun. of Lugait - second prize; Brgy. Binitinan, Mun. Balingasag -third prize; (4th to 6th Class Municipality) Brgy. San Isidro, Mun. of Magsaysay - first prize; Brgy. Aromahon, Mun. of Laguindingan - second prize; Brgy. Taparak, Mun. of Alubijid - third prize; (Component City) Brgy. 18, Gingoog City - first prize.

Each of the first-prize winners for their respective categories received P25,000, while the second-prize winners got P20,000 each; and the third prize winners bagged P15,000 each.