DILG R2 to newly-minted LCEs: Perform your duties to the hilt

August 30, 2013 DILG R2 to newly-minted LCEs: Perform your duties to the hilt

TUGUEGARAO CITY  -   OIC-Regional Director Marlo L. Iringan of DILG Region 2 has exhorted the region’s newly-minted local chief executives (LCEs) to perform their duties and responsibilities to the hilt because “people will look at you as their savior.”

In his message to the 26 first-time LCEs attending the DILG-organized “Orientation-Seminar for Newly Minted Local Chief Executives” held on July 15-16, 2013 at Hotel Ivory here, Iringan stressed that every act or decision that they will make throughout their three-year term will be scrutinized by the people.

Therefore, in order to gain the respect and admiration of their constituents, he encouraged them to perform well, be transparent, accountable and responsive to their needs and demands.

He also asked them to be fair and just in providing all the needed services even to those who did not vote for them in the May 2013 mid-term elections.

The activity was part of the Department’s effort to enable the participants to understand and appreciate their roles and responsibilities as LCEs, internalize and appreciate the social contract of President Aquino and learn from the success stories of the province of Quirino and municipality of Villaverde, Nueva Vizcaya.

In attendance were Provincial Governor Ruth R. Padilla of Nueva Vizcaya, City Mayors Faustino Bernard Dy (Cauayan City, Isabela), Joseph S. Tan (Santiago City) and Jefferson P. Soriano (Tuguegarao City, Cagayan).

Completing the list of participants were 22 of the 29 newly-minted municipal mayors, namely: Leonardo V. Hostallero (Ivana) and Rogelio B. Caballero (Uyugan) of Batangas Province; Kim Stephen T. Turinagn (Enrile) and Asola B. Sacramed (Sanchez Mira) of Cagayan Province; Charlton L. Uy (Cabatuan), Reynaldo D. Derije (Dinapigue), Florita C. Bulan (Divilacan), Nestor M. Uy (Gamu), Leticia T. Sebastian (Jones), Ma. Lycelle Kate Domingo (Maconacon), Malou N. Sanchez (San Guillermo), Ray Socratres L. Velasco (San Isidro), Dean Anthony D. Domalanta (San Mariano), Gilbert M. Masigan (Santa Maria) and Antonio Josae T. Miro III (San Pablo) of Isabela Province; Annie C. Bawayan (Alfonso Castaneda), Arnold P. Dinungon (Ambaguio), Johnny M. Sevillena (Bagabag), Ramon T. Cabauatan, Jr. (Bayombong), Ruben S. Basconcillo (Dupax del Sur) and Liwayway DC. Caramat (Santa Fe) of Nueva Vizcaya Province, and Marcelina M. Pagbilao of Saguday, Quirino.

They were also oriented on the DILG Programs, Projects and Activities, the NEO Framework, First 100 Days, and Roles and Responsibilities of the LCEs, as well as on the major program thrusts of the Department Budget and Management, the Civil Service Commission and NAPOLCOM.

Culminating the activity was the conduct of the NEO Webinar Simulation, an online learning platform that offers basic modules on leadership and governance, which was spearheaded by the Local Government Academy (LGA).                                                                     

Vincent dela Rosa