40 barangays in Zamboanga Del Sur, Zamboanga Sibugay now drug-cleared

October 15, 2020

At least forty (40) Barangays in the provinces of Zamboanga Sibugay and Zamboanga Del Sur are now declared drug cleared by the Regional Oversight Committee on Barangay Drug Clearing Program during their deliberation and declaration last August 24 and 25, 2020 at the Municipal Hall of Siay, Zamboanga Sibugay and at the Subanen Hall, Provincial Sports Complex, Dao, Pagadian City, Zamboanga del Sur, respectively.

Among the member-agencies present during the deliberation were the Department of the Interior and Local Government (DILG) IX, Philippine Drug Enforcement Agency (PDEA) IX, Philippine National Police- Police Regional Office (PNP-PRO) IX, Department of Health (DOH) IX, and the Provincial Government of Zamboanga Sibugay and Zamboanga Del Sur. Regional Director Paisal O. Abutazil was represented by Assistant Regional Director Arnel F. Gudio during the said deliberation.
Upon validation and confirmation from its member-agencies, the PDEA IX Regional Director Emerson L. Maragate as the Committee Chair, has declared twenty-five (25) barangays in the Province of Zamboanga Sibugay on August 24, 2020, as follows:

Municipality of Alicia

•Barangay Santo Nino
•Barangay Alegria

Municipality of Buug

•Barangay Pamintayan

Municipality of Kabasalan

•Barangay Dipala

Municipality of Olutanga

•Barangay Bateria
•Barangay Kahayagan
•Barangay Sta. Maria
•Barangay Calais
•Barangay Looc Sapi

Municipality of Payao

•Barangay Dalama
•Barangay Katipunan
•Barangay Nanan
•Barangay Upper Sumilong
•Barangay Balogo
•Barangay Balian

Municipality of Siay

•Barangay Logbond
•Barangay Poblacio

Municipality of Talusan

•Barangay Aurora
•Barangay Sagay
•Barangay Bualan

Municipality of Tungawan

•Barangay Timbabauan
•Barangay Looc Labuan
•Barangay Linguisan
•Barangay Bantungan

In the Province of Zamboanga del Sur, fifteen (15) barangays have been declared as drug-cleared on August 24, 2020, namely:

Municipality of Aurora

•Barangay Bag-ong Oslob
•Barangay Balintawak
•Barangay Cabilinan
•Barangay Inasagan
•Barangay Kauswagan

Municipality of Dimataling

•Barangay Baluno
•Barangay Tipange

Municipality of Dumalinao

•Barangay Sebucao
•Barangay Anonang
•Barangay Bibilik

Municipality of Guipos

•Barangay Datagan

Municipality of Mahayag

•Barangay Panagaan

Municipality of San Pablo

•Barangay Mabuhay
•Barangay Payag
•Barangay Tubo-Pait

DILG IX would like to extend its warm congratulations to all the dedicated men and women behind this noteworthy achievement of all these drug-cleared barangays.